100 Years Celebration

Brief Hiostory Of Sailendra Sircar Vidyalaya

Saraswati Institution ,later rechristened as Sailendra Sircar Vidyalaya after its Founder Headmaster & Secretary Babu Sailendranath Sircar passed away, commenced its journey in the year 1920 with contribution from the founder himself who was the youngest son of Sri Peary Churn Sircar, distinguished educationalist , philanthropist and the pioneer of Temperance Reform in undivided Bengal and the author of the English primer- The first Book of Reading .Soon the institution got recognised by the University of Calcutta(1921). Since its foundation the school has been producing a good number of successful students who have already proved their academic and cultural excellence in the country and abroad. In the 30’s, 40’s,50’s and the 60’s of the last century state toppers of school leaving examinations were from this institution when at the helm of the academy was none other than “Sir” Jyotir Bikash Mitra –a selfless and benevolent TEACHER and the first National Teacher awardee form West Bengal in the year 1960. It is also our proud that the present Headmaster & Secretary Dr.Sahadev Bandyopadhyay of this institution is the second person who got National Teacher Award in the year 2014 and we have also the pride to announce the name of Dr.Sasaka Purkait who received the Siskhsharatna award of the Government of West Bengal . A few students who with their successful contributions to the nation have brought glory to this century - old Vidyalaya.

It will be no exaggeration to mention some of our alumni who not only the pride of our mother land but also their contributions to the world are enormous among many others and they as follows:

1. Shri Dhiren Kundu, ICS
2. Shri Atul Mukhopadhyay, ICS
3. Shri Sunil Pal
4. Prof.Ashoke Mukhopadhyay, Eminent Educationist, Actor & Founder member of Theatre Workshop
5. Shri Debdulal Bandyopadhyay, Eminent
6. Hon’ble Justice Shyamal Kr.Sen, Chief Justice & Ex- Governor of West Bengal
7. Shri Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Ex-Chief Minister of West Bengal.
8. Prof. Ashoke Sen, Renowned Physicist & Yuri Milner Award Winner
9. Prof.Amitava Roy, Director Hydrocholider Unit,Kolkata
10. Prof. Shivaji Roy, HOD , SINP
11. Shri Meghnad Bhattacharjee, Eminent Dramatist & Founder member of Sayak
12. Shri Nilotpal Das, Grand Master(Chess)

Centenary Programme (Probable)

# Date Program
1 05/01/2019 Provat Feri
2 07/01/2019 Inaugural Program
3 12/01/2019 Centenary Hill Excursion
4 18/01/2019 Inter- School Sports
5 April-May 2019 Blood Donation Camp
6 08/05/2019 Rabindra Jayanti & Prize Distribution
7 August 2019 Science Exhibition
8 05/01/2020 Closing Centenary Program